Caning for Chewing Gum…

Yup. You read my Subject Line correctly. Gum is illegal in Singapore. But you don’t really get caned. It’s a weird rule to keep people from tossing it on the ground, or stick it in the obvious places: under tables, chairs, handrails…keyholes. (Yes, some jackass who put their gum in a keyhole ruined it for everyone!) If you get caught at the airport, they make you toss your pack. Luckily for me, they did not find my 5 packs in my back pack. (I’m kind of a gum addict, if you didn’t already know.)

So, after successfully smuggling gum into the country, I got to see Singapore!

20130614-104927.jpg

I’ve always wanted to check this city out. It’s said to be a great introduction to Asia. I’d have to agree with that assessment. The city is incredibly modern, clean, safe, and English is the first language. Oh and the food is apparently outstanding.

Our breakfast on the first day:

20130614-110434.jpg

We stayed in a hostel called, “The Little Red Dot.” We were given a blanket, and a pod in the wall.

My pod:

20130614-111545.jpg

I loved my pod! It was a good size, about the size of a twin bed. Inside it had two lights, a plug, and a privacy curtain. I was very happy with the hostel. Although, I doubt we will be staying in one again. Scelena didn’t seem so keen on it. And I’m completely okay with continuing to book our romantic honeymoon rooms.

The structures, the building, the public transport systems OH MY! They all get a glowing review from me. I knew about the stunning architecture, but to see them in person is jaw dropping.

Marina Bay Sands:

20130614-111013.jpg

The Flyer, the largest ferris wheel in the world:

20130614-112609.jpg

The Flyer goes the speed of a snail. It takes 30 minutes to go around. We nearly skipped it, but glad we didn’t. The views were amazing up at the top.

20130614-112556.jpg

The Garden by the Bay had these amazing tree structures, with the tallest having a restaurant on top. There was a canopy walk, but it was short and looked cheesy…so we snapped a few photos and called it good.

Quite impressive works of art:

20130614-112852.jpg

20130614-112907.jpg

We found our way to the Botanical Garden. We figured that if the buildings were shockingly amazing, so should the local fauna. Yes. We were right. This park was insanely full of plant life.

Myself at the botanical garden doing the only pose I do, upside down handstand:

20130614-113139.jpg

We decided to check out Little India since the area was within walking distance to our hostel. It was incredibly busy…and apparently it always is. We had some Indian for dinner (that decided to show its face again later that evening. Ugh!) But still delicious going down.

This photo does not really show the craziness, so you’ll just have to trust me:

20130614-113714.jpg

We loved Singapore! I can see how many travelers poke in for a visit. It’s a great city to recharge before heading back out on their South East Asia tour.

Scelena and I touring Singapore:

20130614-113738.jpg

Thanks Singapore for the fun times. We love your friendly city folk, clean streets, and stunning architecture.

Locks of Love in Singapore:

20130614-113651.jpg

PS, I chewed gum the entire time I was there, and not a single caning took place. 😉

Leave a comment